Mariah Carey celebrates 25 years with “#1 to Infinity!”

Mario M.
4 Min Read

A new chapter in Mariah Carey’s career is about to begin. The legendary songstress has signed a new record deal with Sony Music’s Epic Records, which reunites her with Antonio “L.A.” Reid, the man who helped craft her 2005 comeback The Emancipation of Mimi (yesterday was the iconic album’s 10th anniversary) as well as with Sony Music, where she began her hit making career. She’s ready to launch her first ever Vegas residency, starting May 6 at the Colosseum at Ceasar’s Palace.

To celebrate the residency, Epic is re-issuing her 1998 #1’s collection, which will now include all 18 #1 Hot 100 hits and 1 new track. The new album is coming out on May 18. Mariah released the artwork yesterday with the help of her fans around the world. The social media campaign bore the hashtag #RevealMariah and encouraged fans to share the news in order to reveal the cover bit by bit.


#1 to Infinity is the title of the new collection, Mariah herself announced the exclusive pre-order starting today on her website. The tracklist includes all of her 18 #1’s and the new single, “Infinity,” to be released on April 27 alongside its music video directed by Brett Ratner.

1. “Vision of Love” (4 weeks, 1990)
2. “Love Takes Time” (3 weeks, 1990)
3. “Someday” (MTV Unplugged version) (2 weeks, 1991)
4. “I Don’t Wanna Cry” (2 weeks, 1991)  
5. “Emotions” (3 weeks, 1991)  
6. “I’ll Be There” (featuring Trey Lorenz) (2 weeks, 1992)
7. “Dreamlover” (8 weeks, 1993) 
8. “Hero” (4 weeks, 1993) 
9. “Fantasy” (Bad Boy Fantasy version) (8 weeks, 1995) 
10. “One Sweet Day” (featuring Boyz II Men) (16 weeks,1995-1996) 
11. “Always Be My Baby” (2 weeks, 1996) 
12. “Honey” (3 weeks, 1997) 
13. “My All” (1 week, 1998) 
14. “Heartbreaker” (featuring Jay-Z) (2 weeks, 1999) 
15. “Thank God I Found You” (featuring Joe & 98 Degrees) (1 week, 2000) 
16. “We Belong Together” (14 weeks, 2005) 
17. “Don’t Forget About Us” (2 weeks, 2005) 
18. “Touch My Body” (2 weeks, 2008) 
19. “Infinity” (2015)

To celebrate this very exciting moment in Mariah’s career, we will be honoring her in a very special way here at EST. 1997. Beginning on April 27th, with the new single “Infinity,” we will posting reviews and retrospectives about each of her 18 #1 singles. Following our review of “Infinity” on April 27th, we will celebrate the 25th anniversary of Mariah’s iconic, industry-changing first single, “ever,” – “Vision of Love.” With an immaculately researched, in-detail post written by Jason, we will highlight the very significant impact of the song over the last 25 years featuring quotes from numerous singers and hip-hop stars.

Following “Vision of Love” we will move through reviewing the remainder of her #1’s, as well as share a number of “Mariah 25” playlists, highlighting different aspects of her music and career in the form of “Top 25” lists. We hope that Mariah’s lambs will enjoy this very special feature as we celebrate an artist without whom this site would not exist!

Share this Article